



Poland Designated into Visa Waiver Program

Abigail F. Kolker Analyst in Immigration Policy

November 13, 2019

On November 6, 2019, Acting Secretary of Homeland Security Kevin K. McAleenan announced the designation of Poland into the Visa Waiver Program (VWP). The VWP allows citizens of designated countries to visit the United States without obtaining visas. Poland—one of five EU countries that until now had not been designated into the VWP—had been working with the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) for over a decade to meet the program's criteria (see list of criteria below). In FY2019, Poland met the requirement of having a nonimmigrant visa refusal rate below 3%. On October 4, 2019, President Trump announced that the Department of State formally nominated Poland for the VWP, and one month later DHS announced its designation into the program. Polish nationals will be able to apply online for travel authorization starting November 11, 2019.

What Is the VWP?

Originally established in 1986 as a pilot program, the VWP was made permanent in 2000 (P.L. 106-396). The program allows citizens holding passports from 39 nations in Europe, Asia, Oceania, and South America to visit the United States on trips of 90 days or less for business or tourism without obtaining a visa.

Prior to boarding a plane or ship for the United States, prospective VWP travelers must obtain authorization through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA). This is a web-based application run by DHS that checks the traveler's information against relevant law enforcement and security databases and determines eligibility for travel under the VWP. An ESTA authorization is generally valid for multiple entries over a period of two years. In FY2017, there were 22.3 million visitors who entered the United States under the VWP, constituting 30% of all overseas visitors.

Congressional Research Service

7-.... www.crs.gov IN11197

Visa Waiver Program Countries (as of November 2019)

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, and the United Kingdom.

VWP Qualifying Criteria

Under current law, to qualify for the VWP a country must

- offer reciprocal privileges to U.S. citizens;
- have had a nonimmigrant visa refusal rate of less than 3% for the previous year or a lower average percentage over the previous two fiscal years;
- issue electronic, machine-readable passports that contain a biometric identifier (i.e., e-passports);
- certify that it is developing a program to issue tamper-resistant, machine-readable visa documents that incorporate biometric identifiers that are verifiable at the country's port of entry;
- certify that it has in place mechanisms to validate machine-readable passports and epassports at each port of entry;
- enter into an agreement with the United States to report or make available through the International Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL) information about the theft or loss of passports no later than 24 hours after a theft or loss is reported to the VWP country;
- certify, to the maximum extent allowed under the laws of the country, that it is screening each foreign national who is admitted to or departs from that country, using relevant INTERPOL databases and notices, or other means designated by the Secretary of DHS (this requirement only applies to countries that have an international airport);
- accept the repatriation of any citizen, former citizen, or national against whom a final order of removal is issued no later than three weeks after the order is issued;
- enter into and fully implement an agreement with the United States to share information regarding whether a national of that country traveling to the United States represents a threat to U.S. security or welfare; and
- be determined, by the Secretary of Homeland Security, in consultation with the Secretary of State, not to compromise the law enforcement or security interests of the United States by its inclusion in the program.

Security Debate

While there tends to be agreement that the VWP benefits the U.S. economy by facilitating travel, there is debate about VWP's effect on national security. Some stakeholders believe the VWP enhances security by setting standards for travel documents and information sharing, and that the program promotes economic growth and cultural ties. Others argue that VWP decreases national security because VWP travelers do not undergo the screening traditionally required to receive a tourist visa.

In December 2015, following a number of high-profile terrorist attacks in Europe perpetrated mainly by European citizens, Congress passed the Visa Waiver Program Improvement and Terrorist Travel Prevention Act, enacted as part of the FY2016 Consolidated Appropriations Act (P.L. 114-113). This made residents of VWP countries ineligible for admission to the United States if they are dual nationals of or have been present in Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, or Yemen at any time on or after March 1, 2011 (with limited exceptions). The law also allows the Secretary of Homeland Security to immediately suspend a country's participation in the VWP if the country fails to provide information related to security threats.

Adding Countries to VWP

In the last decade, DHS has admitted four new countries into the program. Other countries would like to join the VWP to make it easier and cheaper for their populace to travel to the United States and because membership in the program is often perceived as evidence of close ties with the United States.

Congressional action would be required to admit countries that do not meet the criteria listed above. Legislation has been introduced in recent years that would make broad changes to program eligibility criteria; other bills have targeted changing the VWP requirements for specific geographic areas or countries.

EveryCRSReport.com

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a federal legislative branch agency, housed inside the Library of Congress, charged with providing the United States Congress non-partisan advice on issues that may come before Congress.

EveryCRSReport.com republishes CRS reports that are available to all Congressional staff. The reports are not classified, and Members of Congress routinely make individual reports available to the public.

Prior to our republication, we redacted phone numbers and email addresses of analysts who produced the reports. We also added this page to the report. We have not intentionally made any other changes to any report published on EveryCRSReport.com.

CRS reports, as a work of the United States government, are not subject to copyright protection in the United States. Any CRS report may be reproduced and distributed in its entirety without permission from CRS. However, as a CRS report may include copyrighted images or material from a third party, you may need to obtain permission of the copyright holder if you wish to copy or otherwise use copyrighted material.

Information in a CRS report should not be relied upon for purposes other than public understanding of information that has been provided by CRS to members of Congress in connection with CRS' institutional role.

EveryCRSReport.com is not a government website and is not affiliated with CRS. We do not claim copyright on any CRS report we have republished.